Thrift Store Thursday

If you follow me on facebook, you may have seen my post yesterday about my big score at the thrift store. I got a little giddy. Not only did I find a huge bag full of fabric to use for hair scarves and headbands galore, but I also stumbled upon a vintage silk pencil skirt. When I bought it, I thought it was just a cool poly blend in an awesome color. When I got home and started folding my now-clean purchases, I looked at the tag and discovered that not only was it a vintage size 6 (oh, for the days when a size 6 was actually my size. I was born in the wrong era. There should not be such a thing as size 0… what are you trying to say, clothing manufacturer? That I’m nothing? At least start the scale at 1! I digress.) but also it is 100% silk.

I tried to take a photo of the shimmery quality of the fabric, but it is difficult to photograph. I’m wearing it to a wedding this Sunday, so I’ll try to get a better photo then. Can I just also say that this skirt only cost me $1.50?

DSC_0067

I also got that cute striped t-shirt which I probably won’t wear with the skirt, but that matched for the purpose of the photo. Guys, when my husband got home from work, I probably gushed about this skirt for about 3 whole minutes. He had to tell me to shut up.

Moving on. I also got a lot of fabric for my shop.

DSC_0068 DSC_0069Several vintage skirts, some authentic Liberty of London, and a couple more silks. I’m feeling pretty luxe around here, with all this high class fabric. Can’t wait to get sewing!

And, for my last find of the day, I got this cute vintage sheet with ideas of making a few cute dresses. Maybe with solid color trim and cute big pockets?

DSC_0070

It’s so delicate and cute. We’ll see what I end up making with it.

You guys had any good thrift store finds lately?

One thought on “Thrift Store Thursday

  1. My jean jacket find has really re-ignited my love for thrift shopping. I need to go again soon and buy some cute fall clothes for Ellie Rae.

    Like

Leave a Reply

