Going to the beach, beach. Let’s go catch a wave, wave.

Well, last weekend, we went to the beach. It was just us four, and it was our first vacation all by ourselves. It was such a fun time! The kids behaved, and Andrew and I really enjoyed just relaxing and playing with the kids, without any work or cleaning, or school to deal with. wpid-img_20150813_152607.jpg

As is typical for me, I packed three knitting projects, one coloring book (Johanna Basford’s Enchanted Forest — such a fun coloring book for grown ups!), and only enough clothes for 2 days, although we stayed for 3. Oops. At least I had my knitting, though, AMIRITE??

wpid-20150814_162218.jpg wpid-20150814_165003.jpg

We took the kids out on the pier, which they loved, although my heart felt like it was going to jump out of my chest at the un-bidden images in my mind of them falling off it and into the water below. “Get away from the edge! What if you fall in!” never mind the fact that it would’ve been nearly impossible for this to happen. Mom fears know no bounds.

wpid-20150815_180105.jpg wpid-20150815_180624.jpg

I also took some pictures of them on the beach. Andrew really wanted to be in this picture, but I was mean and cut him out. Actually, I didn’t notice that he was trying to be in the picture until it was too late, and then the kids ran off, so I gave up. At least the side of his face is in it, which is more than I can say for myself, of whom there are zero pictures from this vacation. Maybe I wasn’t even there.

wpid-20150815_182716.jpg

The kids also really loved the side-loading washing machine. It was one of the highlights of the trip for them. Who needs tv when you can just watch the clothes wash? Well played, Samsung.

wpid-20150816_103517.jpg wpid-20150816_103552.jpg

Finally, no vacation would be complete without the consumption of copious amounts of junk food, which, in this case, was donuts. I think Lucy had the right idea… “STUFF IT IN THERE!”

Sometimes, after vacation, I’m tempted to say, “Well, it’s nice to be home.” But in this case, I had so much fun that I was a little sad to come home. I’m looking forward to vacationing again with my best buds, next year. I guess everyone’s more fun when there’s no chores, and french fries can be for dinner every night. HA ha.

Leave a Reply

