DIY Baby Pajama Pants

Turn

DIY Baby Pajamas Pants! For this project, you’ll need one pair of adult flannel pants, and one stretch (preferably including at least 2% spandex) knit tank or tshirt, and about 12 inches or so of 1/2 inch elastic — unless the pjs you’re using have 1/2 inch elastic. Mine used 1 inch, which was just too wide for baby pjs.

20150911_160440

I have had this pair of flannel pajama pants in my pile of fabric to be refashioned for quite some time. You can’t tell in this picture, but the tiny print is actually chihuahuas, wearing antlers and tiny sweaters. It’s perfection. Not for me, because I don’t actually wear pajama pants to bed (I prefer leggings… pants get all bunchy… I’m a delicate flower, you know.) but for their inherent value as a source of awesome fabric for other things. Once I cut them up, they yielded a full yard of fabric in two pieces. for 50 cents. OH YEAH.

Moving on. I wanted to make Lucy some new pj pants because the poor girl has only two sets of winter pajamas, and, since we just finished potty training, zip-up footies are not the best choice for her. I kind of hate drafting pants patterns because they’re pretty fussy to me. I was inspired by the harem pants style, with the dropped crotch, because A) COMFY1000 B) only one pattern piece to make, and only two to sew. 20150911_161108This is how you’ll want to cut the pants up. You’ll have one piece of fabric for each leg (cut down the center seam at the waist, to separate the legs, and then cut up the side seam to lay them out flat) and a nice piece of elastic to use for another project.

Next, you’ll need to grab a pair of your child’s baggiest woven pants, to make a pattern. I used Lucy’s jeans.

20150911_16162720150911_16221820150911_163825

Trace around the pants, rounding out the crotch about an inch or two below where the crotch is on your actual pants. Then, I cut out the two pieces of the pants, being careful to center the seam from the original pants on the center of my new pants, but you don’t necessarily have to do that. It just looks better. 🙂 I actually only used one pant leg for this whole pattern, so I can make another pair of pants from these babies. Again, for 50 cents! (or free, if you have some pj pants lying around, unused.)

All right, so, next, I sewed the right sides together, leaving the waist and leg openings open. I pinned first. I know it’s a lot of trouble and seems like a waste of time, but pinning is worth it. JUST DO IT!! (best Shia Lebeouf impression.)

20150911_164644

Here’s where things get real. Now, get out your tank top and cut some strips for the leg bands and waist band. I made mine 2 inches wide, and about 30% shorter than the actual waist and leg openings. I wanted them to cinch the openings by their natural elasticity. In the waist, I used elastic as well, but the legs don’t need it, although you could certainly add it if you wanted.

20150911_170313

After you’ve got those cut, you’ll want to sew the ends together, to form loops of knit fabric. Then, pin the waistband to the waist of the pants. Do this with the pants right side out, and face the right side of the waistband to the right side of the pants. Like this:

20150911_174920

Since the strip of knit fabric is smaller than the flannel, there will be some puckering, but when you sew it, you’ll stretch it out to match the flannel, so it’ll all work out. Just make sure you pin in evenly, accounting for the stretch.

20150911_175147

See, stretch out that fabric when you sew!

20150911_17593920150911_18000920150911_180603

Next, sew your elastic into a loop. Place it around the waistband on the inside, then fold the waistband over it, and pin. Make sure when you pin the waistband down on the inside that you cover the raw edges of the flannel and the knit where you sewed the first seam.

Now, when I sewed this seam, I chose to sew it from the outside of the waistband, so that there was a nice, even seam, and I could follow the guide of the fabric. This is not how I pinned it. That was  a mistake, and it was only after I’d taken the photos and finished the seam that I realized it. You can do it either way, but you’ll end up with a nicer looking pant if you sew on the outside of the pants, instead of from there inside, where I pinned them. 20150911_182325

Voila! I didn’t take photos of the process for the leg openings because it got dark, but also because it’s exactly the same as the waistband, except without the elastic.

20150912_090653 20150911_180751 20150912_090833

Lucy loved her new pants, and in fact, wore them to bed that night, and then all the next day. The plus side of refashioning is that the fabric is already at maximum softness and I appreciate that. Also, this is Lucy’s first selfie. She hasn’t found her most flattering angle yet, but I’m sure she will.

Let me know if you decide to DIY yourself some baby pj pants using this tutorial! I’d love to see your creations.

Leave a Reply

