Hair scarf inspiration.

DSC_0455 Since I’ve been making the hair scarves for my shop, a lot of people have asked me for a tutorial on how to style their hair with them. I thought I would do a little series on how I like to do my hair with them. This first post is about my very favorite way to style my hair with a hair scarf.

First, you take your scarf and hold it so the middle is centered between your hands, loosely. Then, you’ll put the middle on your forehead and pull your arms back around your head.

DSC_0511DSC_0512DSC_0513DSC_0514DSC_0515DSC_0516
Now, you’re going to cross the ties at the back of your head and come back around to your forehead. At this point, you can either tie it in a knot, and tuck the ends into the scarf, or a bow, if you want (this is great for little girls. not Lucy, of course, because she won’t let me put bows in her hair), or, like I did, you can wrap it one more time and tie it in a little bitty knot at the base of your neck.

And that’s it! I like it because it makes my lazy/bad hair days look more fashionable, or at least like I tried a little to look decent. Also, at the beach, no wispy hairs got in my mouth, which is always a plus for me. You can also choose to start this whole process from the back of the head by centering the middle of the scarf at the base of your neck instead of your forehead. That will reverse each step, but it’s just as easy!

I hope this helps you get some ideas of how you can wear this really versatile accessory. I see more and more women wearing headbands around lately, and I love it! I always like it when it’s fashionable to do something that actually helps me shorten my morning routine.

Leave a comment